Listen Up

Nu-disco, ominous psych-rock, a bilingual bop and more in our weekly musical wrap-up

Holy Ghost!: Anxious

Holy Ghost! (aka Nick Millhiser and Alex Frankel) has been making synthpop, nu-disco bops for a solid decade and after two years of no new music, the duo has just released a new tune. For their new track “Anxious,” they’ve worked with pioneering disco label West End Records. The tune is a flawlessly produced, almost-five-minute disco jam—with soaring, dramatic synths and a wildly satisfying, juicy bass line. Even better, a portion of all sales of the record (available for pre-order online) will be donated to the Gay Men’s Health Crisis and LifeBeat.

Yaeji: One More

Super-talented singer/songwriter/DJ/producer Yaeji (aka Kathy Yaeji Lee) has released yet another hypnotic track that blends classic 4×4 house with pop sensibilities. “One More” is a lush, layered song with Korean and English lyrics that are part spoken, part sung and part whispered. Yaeji keeps her listeners beguiled from beginning to end. Yaeji is currently touring the USA and Canada, and will head to Australia in December.

Sharon Van Etten: Comeback Kid

Sharon Van Etten returns with a big, uptempo track, “Comeback Kid.” The song accompanies the news of a January 2019 album, which follows in the wake of 2014’s acclaimed Are We There, various musical projects and a sublime performance on David Lynch‘s recent Twin Peaks revival. There’s something unexpected pulsing within, rattling to get out with the boldness and beauty Van Etten always delivers.

Elvyn Rhud: Orange is For Love

From their 7-inch split with label-mate Alpha Du Centaure, Elvyn Rhud‘s “Orange is For Love” could be from the soundtrack of a forthcoming Spaghetti Western if the cast were all French… and tripping on LSD. Or, that’s at least how it sounds. French duo Cassandre Arpin and Léo Puy comprise Elvyn Rhud and they’ve once again delivered something psychedelic and timeless.

Thom Yorke: Has Ended

“Has Ended” is the second single from Thom Yorke‘s soundtrack for Luca Guadagnino‘s remake of Dario Argento’s 1997 horror Suspiria. The psychedelic tune slowly and ominously creeps along, as Yorke calls out over the minimal piano, sitar and percussion. “The witches all were singing / and the water turned grey / and the mirrors and the phones / caught flame, caught flame,” he sings. “Has Ended” will appear on the soundtrack’s double LP—set for release 26 October on XL Recordings.

Continue reading “Listen Up”

Listen Up

Psychedelic cha-cha, sprawling guitar riffs, a powerful NSFW video and more

Anna Calvi: Hunter

Anna Calvi’s new song “Hunter” (from her upcoming album of the same name) and the accompanying music video are both beautiful, bold and powerful statements. The latter, directed by Matt Lambert, is a divine and raw exploration of concepts surrounding self-love, identity, intimacy—specifically from a queer angle. Calvi tells Dazed, “It feels incredibly defiant to explore pleasure and the body from a queer perspective, when it’s so rare to see yourself represented in the mainstream.”

Abd al-Rahman al-Khamissi: Hind

Abd al-Rahman al-Khamissi is one of Egypt’s most well-respected poets and well-rounded artists. His versatility—spanning writing, directing and composing—cemented his legacy in Egyptian society. The soundtrack to his 1969 film Respectable Families has been digitally mastered and pressed on vinyl for a limited edition release on Belgian label Radio Martiko on 7 September. The four-track EP is a sultry collection of “psychedelic cha-cha, dark tango, and mysterious twist.” The first song from the EP, called “Hind,” is a tantalizing tune accentuated by a spiraling backdrop of drums.

Flavien Berger: Maddy La Nuit

Warm, mellowed-out vocals twitter over electronic patterings and clouds of synth in Flavien Berger’s “Maddy La Nuit.” The French language, dream-pop song has been paired with a surreal narrative video, directed by Jeanne Frenkel and Cosme Castro, that plays with space and time. Berger’s next album Contre-Temps, which features this track, will release 28 September.

Art Brut: Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out!

Over a decade and a half after they burst out of England with raucous post-punk speak-sung tunes, the British/German band Art Brut return with “Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out!” Fevered and fun, lead singer Eddie Argos delivers another rollicking number—accompanied by an all-animal music video directed by Ben Pollard and Jonny Drewek. The track release coincides with news of their forthcoming London headlining show on 9 November, which sold out in under 24 hours, and another in January 2019.

Tay Iwar: Miracle Girl

From Lagos- and Abuja-raised Tay Iwar comes a trio of singles, out on Soulection. “Miracle Girl” stands out as an exhausting display of vocal range over electric guitar croons. “Girl, you’re a miracle,” the chorus rings. It’s an interlude-esque tune that teeters on the edge of a breakdown—though one never comes. The result is three minutes of pared-back ups and downs accentuated by high-notes and hard strums. Iwar’s debut album, 1997, will be released in November.

Continue reading “Listen Up”


Farewell to Dennis Edwards, new music by PJ Harvey, a fascinating piece by Mark Pritchard and more

Dennis Edwards feat. Siedah Garrett: Don’t Look Any Further Off and on again lead singer for the Temptations, Dennis Edwards has passed away at 74 years old. Fronting one of the world’s most recognizable and timeless groups, Edwards was a pioneer of Motown’s psychedelic soul—thanks to songs like “Cloud Nine” and “I Can’t Get Next To You.” Edwards (who had a background in gospel singing) …


Beautiful new music by Tune-Yards, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Sam Gouthro and more

SG Lewis feat. J Warner: Aura London-based DJ and producer SG Lewis is fast becoming a CH favorite, thanks to his atmospheric and laid-back style. His latest collaboration, with J Warner, “Aura” blends dance and soul seamlessly and the result is a funky dance floor-ready track that boasts glittery production. Tune-Yards: Heart Attack The lead track from Tune-Yard’s brand new album I can feel you …

Unknown Mortal Orchestra: American Guilt

The new track by NZ band Unknown Mortal Orchestra, “American Guilt,” is a little more psychedelic than what’s found on their previous album. Seemingly recorded in a lo-fi manner, with plenty of fuzzed vocals and distorted guitar, the tune is crunchy and raw in the best possible way. UMO has also announced a comprehensive USA and Europe tour beginning in April.