Read Culture

The Trip 2 Navigated by Tom Middleton


You may remember that all the way back in March, we gave you an early tip-off that Tom Middleton would be following up his essential mix album for The Trip series on Family Recordings. In what we think is a bit of an exclusive for CH, we can finally reveal the artwork and tracklisting, both of which look like being worthy successors. Like last time, the album's split in two, with the first side now called Vertical and the second, Horizontal.

As you might guess, Vertical is the party mix, and one that goes off at a tangent at every opportunity, starting with hackneyed tv themes before mixing in the likes of hip-hop pioneers Eric B. & Rakim, Brazilian body-percussionists Barbatuques and weird electronica from I Monster. Horizontal is naturally more laid-back. Modern classics like Boards Of Canada's Dayvan Cowboy and Here's What's Left by RJD2 melt into tracks old and new from Quantic, Plump DJs and The Orb. The seminal Tangerine Dream hypnotically rap things up with Love On A Real Train.

The Trip 2 Navigated by Tom Middleton is set for release on 23 October 2006, and you can see the full tracklisting after the jump.


1 Thames TV Ident

2 Laurie Johnson – This Is Your Life

3 Moonbootica – Listen

4 Only Freak – Can’t Get Away (From Your Love) Solid Groove Remix

5 Novika & Innocent Sorcerers – Finally

6 Simon Grey – Galactica Suite

7 Wicked Lestor – Skeewiff’s Batucada Dub

8 Mahala Rai Banda – Mahalageasca – Felix B Jazzhouse Dub

9 Recloose – Manas Bounce

10 Kool & The Gang – Caribbean Festival

11 Earth, Wind & Fire – Bad Tune

12 Jungle Brothers – What U Waiting 4? (Jungle Fever Mix)

13 Eric B. & Rakim – Follow the Leader

14 Lyn Collins – Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again & Again & Again

15 Breakestra – Family Rap

16 Air – Alpha Beta Gaga – Mark Ronson Remix Feat Rhymefest

17 Nicolay – We Can Fly

18 JD73 – Happy people

19 Shantel – Bucovina

20 Barbappapa’s Groove – Barbatuques

21 Vincent Montana, Jr. & The Philly Sound Orchestra Feat. William

‘Smoke’ Howard – That’s What Love Does (Vincent Montana, Jr. Original Mix)

22 I Monster – The La La Song

23 Wayne Hill – LeftBank 2


1 Simian – The Wisp

2 Boards Of Canada – Dayvan Cowboy

3 RJD2 – Here’s What’s Left

4 Danny Breaks – Transmit Fantastic

5 Stereo MC’s – Smokin’ With the Motherman

6 Goldfrapp – Hairy Trees

7 Plump Dj’s – Morning Sun

8 Schmoov – Taking Me Over

9 Robert Mitchell – Heart Full Of U (Shur-i-kan Remix)

10 Cicada – Elle Et Moi

11 Ralph Myers & the Jack Herren Band – A Special Morning

12 Emiliana Torrini – Sunnyroad

13 Breaks Co-Op – Duet

14 Alucidnation – Metal Bark

15 Tom Middleton presents Amba – Optimystic

16 Jakatta – The Other World

17 Thievery Corporation – The Cosmic Game

18 Boozoo Bajou – S.I.P.

19 Quantic – Archipelago

20 Fenomenon – Sleepy Meadows Of Buxton

21 Stanley Myers – The Martian Chronicles Theme

22 The Orb – A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain That Rules

from the Centre of the Ultraworld: Loving You (Aubrey

Mix Mk 11 By Jimmy Cauty & De Alex Paterson)

23 Tangerine Dream – Love on a Real Train