Architizer A+ Awards

The deadline approaches for the nascent architecture and design platform


Created as a way to honor innovation in contemporary architecture and design, the Architizer A+ Awards are now nearing the final entry deadline of 21 December 2012. Entrants will be judged by 200 jurors across 50+ categories, and the winners will be awarded a trophy designed by Snarkitecture at the 16 May 2013 red carpet gala. The competition—which was launched in partnership between Architizer and the producers of The Webby Awards—is one of the only dedicated to honoring design minds in fields ranging from airports and public parks to farming and telecommunication.

The categories are divided into the Typology Awards—dealing with traditional building types—and Plus Awards, which examine architecture’s role in contemporary global issues. Judging the entries are a long list of notable innovators and leaders, including designers Yves Béhar and Dror Benshetrit, Kickstarter founder Charles Adler, Ben Flanner of Brooklyn Grange and Cool Hunting founder Josh Rubin.

Watch the video on the making of the award, and make sure to submit your entries online by 21 December 2012.