Architizer A+ Awards

The finalists have been announced and now it's time for the public to vote


Created as a way to honor innovation and impressive new structures in architecture, the Architizer A+ Awards today announce their finalists and open up voting to the public on the much anticipated popular choice award. Judged by 200 jurors including Cool Hunting co-founders Josh Rubin and Evan Orensten, each of the 50+ categories have been narrowed down to just a couple of standouts, from which everyone will have a chance to vote online. The official winners will be awarded a trophy designed by Snarkitecture on 16 May 2013 at a formal red carpet gala event. The brainchild of Architizer and the producers of the Webby Awards, the Architizer A+ Awards hope to highlight the designers and firms behind some of the most ingenious contemporary architecture.

architizer_a_plus_awards_public_voting_2.jpg architizer_a_plus_awards_public_voting_3.jpg

The Awards’ two categories, Typology and Plus Awards, recognize both traditional building types as well as conceptual architecture. The Typology awards cover everything from single-family homes to new government buildings with finalists including Marc Jacobs Tokyo Flagship designed by Jaklitsch/Gardner Architects to Bilbao’s new waterfront landscape plan by Balmori Associates. For the Plus Awards, categories include Architecture +Urban Transformation to Architecture +Fabrication with finalists like Skidmore, Owings & Merrill nominated for their design, The Bayarc in the Architecture +Weather category and for their innovation, cold bending glass in the Architecture +Fabrication category.


With so many standouts, Architizer has turned to the public to select their own winners. Voting starts today, 14 February 2013, and will end 8 March 2013 with both the popular and jury picked winners being announced in May. Visit the website to select who you think deserves recognition for outstanding work in architecture.

Images courtesy of Architizer A+ Awards