Cooper Hewitt’s 2017 National Design Award Winners

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has announced their 18th annual design award winners—those who embody excellence and innovation in 11 design categories. “In an era of tumultuous change, design is asking deep questions about its purpose and contributions to a better society,” explains Caroline Baumann, director of Cooper Hewitt. Among this year’s winners, internationally acclaimed industrial designer Hartmut Esslinger has been honored with a lifetime achievement award, SF-based Jennifer Morla was acknowledged for Communication Design and New Yorker Joe Doucet for product design. Explore their work, and that of the other winners, at Cooper Hewitt’s site.