Vale Prodigy of Mobb Deep, a soulful tune from SG Lewis, new music by Fischerspooner and more in our musical round-up

Mobb Deep: Give Up The Goods

Prodigy, one half of the legendary hip hop duo Mobb Deep, passed away this week at just 42 years old. Known for their brooding, sometimes eerie sound, Mobb Deep is widely considered one of New York’s most influential hardcore rap groups. Their second album, the cinematic The Infamous (1995) delivered some of the group’s best-known tracks—perhaps most famously “Shook Ones II.” We’ve chosen to share “Give Up The Goods,” which was co-produced by Q-Tip and carries both grit and soul, as well as a crisp snare that radiates.

SG Lewis feat. Toulouse: Times We Had

Producer SG Lewis has teamed up with NYC-based vocalist Toulouse for a genre-bending tune that’s as sparkly as it is soulful. “Times We Had” takes tips from multiple genres including R&B, disco, soul and dark dance—with bright synths and a funky bass-line. Toulouse, of course, offers lustrous vocals—the combination of it all creating an infectious groove that’s entirely addictive.

Fischerspooner: Have Fun Tonight

The first track from NYC-based electro duo Fischerspooner (aka Warren Fischer and Casey Spooner) in some eight years, “Have Fun Tonight” is a dark, sexy electro track that encourages engaging in romantic fun without your partner. The infectious dance tune was co-written and produced by Michael Stipe and Boots, and isn’t exactly a cheating ballad. The message is much more about being free within a loving relationship thanks to lyrics like, “Before we part ways tonight my love / we come together sweetly / I want to hold you near / now go have fun without me / you know that I’ll be here.” The track is from the outfit’s upcoming album SIR which is set for release 22 September on Ultra. Be sure to take a look at the interview we did with Casey Spooner a few years back.

Moby + The Void Pacific Choir: In This Cold Place

Moby continues his string of surprise releases, after last week’s new Void Pacific Choir collaborative album dubbed More Fast Songs About The Apocalypse. The latest drop is a clever, colorful animated video for “In This Cold Place.” The vision of satirical illustrator Steve Cutts, the piece plays off of classic Sunday morning cartoons and commercials, only incorporating dark societal elements—from violence to misogyny, gross consumerism and factory farming.

Kali Uchis feat. Jorja Smith: Tyrant

One of the most anticipated albums of the year, Kali Uchis’ forthcoming full length will include “Tyrant,” released today in vibrant video form, directed by HELMI. The singer, songwriter and producer’s dual language track delights with layers of sonic effervescence atop a bouncing beat. A guest appearance from Jorja Smith only amplifies the song’s vocal depths, rounding out a beautiful piece of music.

Wu-Tang Clan: Don’t Stop

Thus far in 2017, TV shows have had a profound impact on people’s music consumption habits (Big Little Lies and the Young Pope included). Out tomorrow, the official Silicon Valley soundtrack has already graced us with new work from producer Hudson Mohawke—but even more impressive, the latest Wu-Tang Clan track, “Don’t Stop,” sees both Raekwon and Method Man in top form. Produced by RZA, layer upon layer of sonic force work together sometimes in contrast with the lyrics on top.

Arcade Fire: Creature Comfort

As anticipation reaches critical mass for their 28 July Everything Now album release, the Arcade Fire have just unleashed a hyper-active satirical video for the track “Creature Comfort.” While the band, dressed in matching futuristic costumes, plays in the background, annotations pop up on screen—calling to mind the VH1 classic Pop-Up Video. Only, the information here is comedic and quite frankly bizarre at times. The track itself is masterful and rollicking, with powerful supporting vocals from Régine Chassagne.

The Technicolors: Reptilia

One day after their riveting new single “Impostor!” released, The Technicolors return (or, lead singer Brennan Smiley does) with a powerful rendition of The Strokes’ “Reptilia.” Accompanied by the Atlas String Quartet—who deliver elegant, emotionally-charged instrumentation—Smiley works his way through the lyrics in a way both respectful to Julian Casablancas’ original delivery but also distinctly his own. The Technicolors release new LP Metaphysical on 7 July.

Parcels: Overnight

A five-member Australian group based in Berlin, Parcels received a production (and writing) assist from Daft Punk on their latest Kitsuné Music single, “Overnight.” The disco-infused track grooves along with sunshine extending from all angles. It’s a joy—not to mention a great way to dance into Pride Weekend.

ListenUp is a Cool Hunting series published every Sunday that rounds up the music we tweeted throughout the week, also found in Listen. Hear the year so far via Cool Hunting Spotify.