Remixes by Moodymann and King Princess, new tunes by Gorillaz, Kanye, and more in our musical round-up

The Internet: Come Over

The Internet (aka Syd, Patrick Paige II, Matt Martians, Christopher Smith and Steve Lacy) has been teasing new music from their upcoming Hive Mind—out 20 July—for a little while now, and the LA-based outfit just released the expectedly sublime “Come Over.” Their first release since 2015’s Ego Death (though members have been busy with solo work), it’s smooth and slinky with touches of jazz in the chords. Overall it’s The Internet at their effortlessly alluring best.

Perfume Genius: Run Me Through (King Princess Remix)

From Reshaped, “Run Me Through (King Princess Remix)” is one of six reworked Perfume Genius tracks drawn from last year’s highly acclaimed No Shape. Here, King Princess warps the exceptional Mike Hadreas’ vibey tune—lending it a dark, substantial underbelly.

Beanpole: Farmer Loved an Onion

An undeniably bizarre but comically likable tune, “Farmer Loved an Onion” originally came to fruition back in the ’90s. It was the product of a side project known as Beanpole, featuring Les Claypool, Larry LaLonde, Derek Greenberg and Adam Gates. The album featuring this track was so strange it got the whole imprint releasing it dropped from the parent label—and the music was buried. Now, Sean Lennon has unearthed it and will release the All My Kin album on his own label Chimera Music this August.

Nightmares On Wax: Deep Shadows (Moodymann Remix)

From Nightmares on Wax’s upcoming Deep Shadows Remixes EP (which follows January’s Shape the Future album) comes the first rework: “Deep Shadows” by often-masked Detroit legend Moodymann (aka Kenny Dixon Jr). The remix starts off silky, and around the one-minute mark, starts getting some squelchy bass, before some acid house inflection—all the while maintaining its perfectly languid pace.


With numerous magnetizing uses of IDLES’ frontman Joe Talbot (and his head), the video for “COLOSSUS” twists and turns in tandem with the remarkable and punkish track—which aims to tackle toxic masculinity. Powerful throughout, the song splits musically around the four-minute mark but never loses its way. Intensity drives the tune, both Talbot’s lyrics can be used to describe it best: “Tender, violent and queer.”

Gorillaz feat. George Benson: Humility

Cartoon band Gorillaz (aka Damon Albarn and artist Jamie Hewlett) have just released two songs from their upcoming record The Now Now, and one is the particularly summery “Humility”—featuring the talents of the inimitable soul and jazz musician George Benson (perhaps most famous for “On Broadway” snd “Give Me The Night”). The breezy tune is just in time for the warmer months, and Benson’s familiar guitar sprinkles the tune with effortless charm. The video features all four band members—2-D, Murdoc Niccals, Noodle and Russel Hobbs—as well as Jack Black and a few other celebrities.

Kanye West: Ghost Town

Whether you love him, hate him, think he’s a maniac or a traitor, there’s no denying Kanye West’s talents as a record producer—and he’s proven it again with today’s release of Ye, his eighth studio album. Touching on topics from his mental health to Stormy Daniels and everything between, it’s a record of lyrics that will polarize, but with beats of undeniable power. Our pick from the short record (just 23 minutes long) is “Ghost Town,” featuring (uncredited) Kid Cudi, 070 Shake and John Legend. With additional production from Mike Dean, Benny Blanco and Francis and the Lights, the many voices and hands on the track yield a layered, dynamic and emotional piece.

ListenUp is a Cool Hunting series published every Sunday that rounds up the music we tweeted throughout the week, also found in Listen. Hear the year so far via Cool Hunting Spotify.