Synth and electropop tunes from NJOMZA, LPX and Young Dreams, plus more new music

Cende: Bed

With refreshing force, Cende’s singer Cameron Wisch delivers direct, emotive vocals in the band’s new single “Bed” (which premiered exclusively on The Fader). The pop-rock track bounds forward, carrying plenty of lyrical baggage and stirring up quite the catchy ruckus. “Bed” hails from Cende’s forthcoming (and first) full-length, #1 Hit Single, out 26 May on Double Double Whammy.


From NJOMZA’s upcoming EP Sad For You, “Hear Me” (produced by Papi Beatz) is a down-tempo synth-pop tune that adds glitter to balladry. About her teenage relationship falling apart, the song includes several “lost love” themes, but NJOMZA’s tender vocals dodge the cliches. The Chicago-based singer’s record is set for release 7 April.

LPX: Tightrope

From Lizzy Plapinger’s impassioned vocals to choreography from icon Karole Armitage and minimal, powerful lighting and set design, there’s nothing to dislike about “Tightrope,” a track and video from Plapinger’s solo project LPX. The powerful performance at its core reveals Plapinger’s potency, energy and charisma. The track is dancey and enjoyable. Altogether, it’s a teaser for what we hope will be a lot of LPX music in the future.

Little Cub: Hypnotise

With found footage implying a dystopian, violent and advertising-driven future, Kim Taylor’s video for South London band Little Cub’s
“Hypnotise” carries substantial force. The track at its heart delivers a dark dreaminess, inspired by lead singer Dominic Gore’s lyrical assessment of the world’s undoing. That said, both the song and video impress with their beauty and messaging. Little Cub’s debut album Still Life will be released on 28 April through Domino Records.

Young Dreams: Sinner (I’m Sorry)

With their latest release, “Sinner (I’m Sorry),” Norwegian electropop unit Young Dreams wraps heady lyrics within buoyant melodies. A shimmering, summery orchestration lifts the track from its depths, occasionally veering into psychedelia. “Sinner (I’m Sorry)” is the band’s first release since their debut album Between Places came out in 2013.

ListenUp is a Cool Hunting series published every Sunday that rounds up the music we tweeted throughout the week, also found in Listen. Hear the year so far via Cool Hunting Spotify.